It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bowel Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-01-2010, 12:20 PM   #1
(female)

cshmom59 HB User
cshmom59

Thirty years ago I had my first child. 8lb., 12. boy. My OB did a very poor job monitering my labor, and while pushing I got a 4th degree laceration. He did not repair it properly. I developed a recto-vaginal fistula and leaked stool vaginally for 6 months. In the meantime, I became pregnant again, so the fistula could not be repaired. This child was born at 28 weeks by c-section as she was a double footling breach. Strangely the leaking stopped, but I always passed gas and made strange squeaking sounds vaginally....very embarressing.
I learned to live with this and when I had my 3rd child my new OB repaired the opening. Life was good until my 4th pregnancy. During my third trimester I began to leak stool rectally, I developed IBS, and diverticulois. In 1997 I had a sphincterplasty which was extremely painful and the sad part was that I became infected, the procedure failed and I was worse after the surgery than before. It's now August 2010, and I'm beginning to get very depressed over constantly soiling myself, not being able to go out in public without the fear of having an accident, I can't exercise as it causes leakage, etc.
Does anyone share this plight with me. Has anyone had a successful repair for this condition?. I live in New York. Does anyone have a good surgeon that they can recommend. Thank you for listening.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-02-2010, 04:44 AM   #2
(female)

penny70 HB User
Re: cshmom59

Dear CSHmom,