It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bowel Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-14-2010, 05:26 PM   #1
(male)

setialphasix HB User
Help! Anal fissure and no insurance! Solutions?

Hi, all. My name is Kyle, and I'm a 35-year old college student working on his grad degree. All my life I have eaten the crappiest, unhealthiest foods, and have been a smoker since I was seventeen years old, and have recently (self) diagnosed an anal fissure. It started about two weeks ago after straining with a BM and now I live in fear of my bathroom, a place which was once my reading refuge, lol.

At first I thought it was merely a case of really bad hemmorhoids, so I used Prep-H for about a week with no results. The pain begins almost instantaneously after a BM and can be very uncomfortable for several hours afterwards, but then eventually subsides. I first came to these boards through a Google search for alternatives to healing bad hemmorhoids, and in fact re-diagnosed it as an anal fissure after reading hundreds of very helpful posts here and a few other websites.

I try hot hot baths, and that only helps mildly, and almost as soon as I get out of the tub the pain comes back. Although the pain is EXTREMELY uncomfortable and annoying, I don't think its as excruciating as some people I've read, but it damn sure does put a kink in the several hours following a bathroom visit. I know this problem is my fault, and I'm sure it was caused because of the ridiculously unhealthy lifestyle I've led, but I'm in college, with no insurance and practically no money, I make enough to survive through school, and that's about it.