HealthBoards

HealthBoards (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/)
-   Bowel Disorders (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/bowel-disorders/)
-   -   scared to death of everything hemorrhoidectomy (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/bowel-disorders/854029-scared-death-everything-hemorrhoidectomy.html)

scaredguyinsac 06-12-2011 01:56 PM

scared to death of everything hemorrhoidectomy

Hello all,
I want to start off by saying thank you for all those who have posted their stories. Some are scaring the hell out of me and some inspire hope. I want to thank Tacoma Guy and painindc for their wonderful and informative posts. I have been reading their threads a few times a day hoping my issues turn out the same or similar.

My issues started back in about 2004 or 2005 when I was an aerospace ground equipment tech in the USAF. I used to push and pull and lift a lot of weight as part of my job. Including stuff I should have asked for help on most likely. My diet also wasn't the greatest and would be constipated and push/strain to pass a BM. One day after going to the bathroom, I stood up to wipe and saw the toilet was nothing but dark red. I had done something bad. I was then told I had hemorrhoids and to make changes. I didn't make the changes I should have and it progressed to the point of stage 3. I was told of my stage 3 last year and was advised I could get surgery through the Veteran Affairs hospital in Sacramento. Note: I left the USAF in 2008. I now have a job where I travel and the joy of stage 3 hemorrhoids was highly inconvenient to me so I opted to go for tthe surgery. I also almost always noticed blood in my stool the past couple months and was ready for that to end as well. So June 7th, 2010 I went under to get my surgery.