It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bowel Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2012, 05:58 AM   #1
(male)

Rockster44 HB User
Diverticulitis and Sigmoid Colectomy

Hello folks, just wanted to share some information about my issues with Diverticulitis leading up to a Sigmoid Colectomy. Eventually I would like to have a blog on my recovery, but I am new to this and have not figured out how to start it. I guess I need to start reading a little more on how to get a decent blog.

I will start by saying today is my eighth post op day, wow what a ride. If anyone wants any information from me about my experience before I figure out how to blog please do not hesitate to contact me. I would love to share my experience.

Here is a short BIO on my situation pre op. I am a 44 year old male, I consider myself healthy. I have three children ages 10, 7, 5. A beautiful wife, I am an average person with the normal life ups and downs. I tend to hold stress in my stomach and thereabouts. I am blaming my Diverticulitis on stress and also my mother has had her share of intestinal issues, including Diverticulitis leading to a Sigmoid Colectomy.

Two years ago I woke up with a serious gas pain, thinking I just needed to pass it with my daily stool and went on with my business. This gas bubble never passed, three days later I was in the Hospital, diagnosed with Diverticulitis and given the standard antibiotics. Almost to the day, one year later I was under attack again. Might i add that since the first attack I had taken procedures to eliminate all foods with seeds, skin, and pretty much everything I enjoyed. My gastroenterologist suggested from the beginning I should consider going to a surgeon, I was like your crazy man, I can beat this. And there he was again a year later telling me the same, but I am stubborn, I can beat this, I am MAN!