It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Brain & Head Injury Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-26-2011, 02:27 AM   #1
(female)

604lady HB User
how is a b.i. determined ?

Hello to everyone,
I am new to healthboards, and happy to be here
Due to a series of many very unfortunate events in my nearly 33 years I have a unrelenting suspicion that I have a brain injury. I have dicussed my concerns with my family doctor, after hearing my side of things, she agrees that having a brain injury is very likely. My family doctor also mentioned that if I want to further investigate it would cost $1000.00 or more to get the "testing" done. I live Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, is anybody in MY area familiar with this ?. What kind of testing is done to determine a brain injury and the severity of a brain injury.
Please fill me in
Tyvm

Old 07-31-2011, 09:35 AM   #2
(female)

604lady HB User
Re: how is a b.i. determined ?

I wish I had some answers

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-04-2011, 08:06 AM   #3
(male)

Pingree70 HB User

A brain injury can be determined a few ways. The most common that I have come across is neuropsychological testing. The testing is quite extensive and can last for up to 8 hours, consisting of many different tests to determine how any injury might have affected your brain. In my experience these tests results can be somewhat misleading as they do not take into account things like fatigue, eye problems, headaches, and other physical issues that affect your daily life. I have had 3 of these tests done over the last 3 years due to a motorcycle accident and all have shown issues, but the results have all been different. I know a $1000.00 is a lot of money, but you are worth it. Would you spend a $1000 on a nice spa vacation? Your health is worth every penny you have. Please let us know how you are doing?

Mark
The TBI Guy