It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Brain Tumors Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-18-2004, 02:20 PM   #1

SHAYSER HB User
Would a ct scan show a brain tumor?

I had a ct scan around a month ago it came back normal, but my eyes still hurt and i still get head aches once in a while i woke up today and my eye was red and swollen underneath the eyelid> near the eye socket, any advise and does anyone know if a ct scan show a brain tumor??

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-18-2004, 04:09 PM   #2

Shannan72 HB User
Re: Would a ct scan show a brain tumor?

Yes, a CT scan would show that there was some sort of abnormality if there was one. However, an MRI would be a much better thing to have done to clarify any abnormalities that might be within your brain. I'm no doctor, but I've had my share of CT scans and MRIs done within the past 1.5 years. In July 2003, I started having major visual disturbances (that I later found out were seizures) and I checked myself into the ER after a week of having these disturbances and getting lost on the way home from the grocery store. After a CT scan, I was told that I had a brain tumor. An MRI confirmed this as well as gave the doctors an idea of what grade the tumor was considered. Fortunately, mine is a low-grade glioma; therefore, not malignant. I had brain surgery in August 2003 to remove as much of the tumor as possible to lessen the chances that it will come back malignant. I still have seizures and am on medication for that. Other than that, I'm fine and I enjoy life to its fullest. My advice to you is if you're that scared that it could be a tumor, have your doctor refer you in to have an MRI done. I hope this helps. The best thing to do in all cases is to not live in fear that something is wrong with you. A positive attitude goes a long way.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-18-2004, 04:20 PM   #3
Inactive
(female)

bordrgrl HB User