It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Brain Tumors Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-11-2011, 06:21 PM   #1
(female)

dad1933 HB User
gbm end of life stage

I hope this doesn't offend anyone but I have to know what the end of life stages are for someone with GBM? My family needs some answers to help cope with our loss. Any information on where to find more information is greatly appreciated.

Last edited by dad1933; 08-11-2011 at 07:40 PM.

The following user gives a hug of support to dad1933:
mandyharrison (11-06-2011)
Old 08-22-2011, 08:08 AM   #2
(female)

crossing23 HB User
Re: gbm end of life stage

Sorry I am not good with abreviations. Do you mean Gioblastoma?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-22-2011, 09:16 AM   #3
(female)

dad1933 HB User

Yes, that's the one

Old 08-22-2011, 04:56 PM   #4
(female)

crossing23 HB User

I am very sorry that your family is going through this terrible time.
We just lost our niece to gbm.
Our niece went on the new medication Avastin which did add a couple of mths to her life.
The good thing about (gbm) if there is any, is that the patient is not in pain.
The last 4 wks of her life, she had a hard time eating, even baby food, then she had a hard time swallowing even water.
The last week of her life, she started with seizures, she had 1 at home, and another when she arrived at the hospital.
While at the hospital, she had 2 more seizures. Again the good thing is that they have no memory of the seizures.
After 4 seizures, and no food or liquids, they told my niece that she was at the end of her journey, and that she had to make the decision of having a feeding tube or just have Hospice come to her home to care for her.
Her decision was to go home where she was heavily drugged and left us peacefully 4 days later.

I hope I have helped a little with this trying time. I wish you all the best of luck.

God Bless
Marilyn