It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Breastfeeding Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2006, 07:58 PM   #1
(female)

feb06baby HB User
Breast Feeding.....

Hello Ladies,

I'm new to the infant care board. I delivered Feb 3rd, I'm 5 days post partum. My milk came in about 48 hours ago. Since then my breasts have been really engorged and sore. I thought this lasted 24-48 hours? When will they go down a little? They really hurt, and feel so tight and hard. I have had to manually squeeze some out since my DD does'nt nurse enough to relieve it completely. Also, my nipples are really sore for the first minute after she latches on. Does this go away soon or will it always hurt for a minute or so? Thanks in advance!!!

Old 02-08-2006, 08:46 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

S&J HB User
Re: Breast Feeding.....

First congrats on your new baby!
What i did to relieve the pressure was to use a breast pump...Your breasts eventually will make the right amount for what your baby is sucking....know what I mean? Also..i used to put Lanolin (sp?) on after breastfeeding.
I hope I could answer your question!
And hope you're getting some sleep!
S

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-08-2006, 08:46 PM   #3
Inactive
(female)

summertyme HB User

The engorgement will go down in a few days as soon as your body adjusts to your baby's needs. Also, the pain came as a big surprise to me too. For me, it hurt for about the first month with each of my children. Eventually it went away, and nursing became a lot easier.

Keep up the great work!! You're doing a wonderful thing!!

Old 02-09-2006, 07:40 AM   #4
Veteran
(female)

Altson HB User