It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Breastfeeding Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-07-2006, 10:21 PM   #1
(female)

PezLori HB User
Levothyroxine & Breastfeeding

Hello. This is my first time here - I'm a little worried about something and thought I'd post to get some opinions. I have an 8 week old who I am breastfeeding. I'm hypothyroid, and have been taking Levothyroxine. My levels fluctuated a little during pregnancy, any my dosage was upped. I asked to be tested a couple weeks ago, thinking things may have changed again post-partum. Sure enough, my TSH was down to .10. Normally I'm around 2. My very uninvolved primary care physician wrote on the lab results that it's low, but to continue on the same dosage. Well, my need for a new doctor and a new prescription is another issue, which I'll be working on right away, but here's why I'm here: I know that a hypothyroid mom who is taking the proper dosage of hormone replacement can breastfeed just fine, but what if I'm taking too much? The reason I'm worried is my daughter has a terrible time sleeping - she's extremely restless and jumpy. It's gotten progressively worse. I told my husband that she acts like she's feeling the same way I felt when my bonehead doctor accidentally gave me a prescription for a much higher dosage than I needed. Obviously I'm going to talk to my doctor about this, but I'm wondering if my medicine could be affecting her. Any thoughts on this? I've been researching on the web all evening and can't really find anything on point. Thanks in advance.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-08-2006, 06:14 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

midwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB User
Re: Levothyroxine & Breastfeeding