It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Breastfeeding Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-11-2010, 02:04 AM   #1
(male)

daddyneedshelp HB User
I'm a 38 year old father to a 6 day old newborn. I'm at my wits end already!

The first few days were hard, but together with my wife, we powered through the sleeplessness and were doing fine. I don't know what's different, but today I am SO frustrated by my baby boy crying. I work from home and I haven't been able to work at all because I'm so tired...I'm helping fifty/fifty with my wife - we take turns taking three or four hour naps and stay with the baby the rest of the time, I change his diapers most of the time, she pumps breast milk and we take turns feeding him. Between setting up all the baby stuff and taking turns taking care of the baby, I can't get the energy up to work at all - I'm a web/graphic designer, and I'm unable to be creative in these circumstances.

My beautiful baby boy has only been alive for 6 days, and I'm already at my wits end. My wife is trying hard to make it easier on me (even though she shouldn't have to!) but she is recovering from the pregnancy and a tear in her vagina, so she's in a fair amount of pain, in addition to having to breast feed and help with the baby. We're both trying hard, but she seems much more capable of dealing with the baby's crying.

Tonight, I had to walk away from him and I was very mad. I don't want to be mad at my new baby, and I don't want to put any extra responsibility on my wife...help!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-13-2010, 03:14 PM   #2
(female)

Basswife HB UserBasswife HB User
Re: I'm a 38 year old father to a 6 day old newborn. I'm at my wits end already!

Ths is normal!