It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Breastfeeding Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-27-2011, 10:48 PM   #1
(female)

Pyxelle HB User
adderall while breastfeeding???

Okay, I would like to chime in here. Please bear with the long post, but I have some personal experience with ADD meds and pregnancy/nursing that I would really like to relate.

I am a mom of a twelve year old boy and one year old daughter. My son was born before I was diagnosed with ADD and I nursed him until almost two. I love the bonding, and the benefits of BF'ing are amazing, so of course when my daughter was conceived two years ago I fully intended to breastfeed.

However, this was after I had been diagnosed and had been treated for ADHD and anxiety disorders and had been well controlled on medication for years. Because I was nervous about the effects during pregnancy, I tried to cut out all my meds (other than zoloft) at the advice of my OB/GYN. It was a disaster.

I was in online school and in one month went from an A average to a D-. My son was worried about me because I was so on edge and unable to cope that he actually would come home from school, help clean the house, and would give me a dozen hugs a day trying to make me feel better (I have an awesome son

I hated that he felt he needed to take care of me, and that of course made things worse. When I went to my OB/GYN appointment next time, she was very concerned in the changes in me and recommended I go back on my ADHD meds at a reduced dose, as well as giving me a very low dose emergency prescription for Xanax in case of severe anxiety attacks.