It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Bladder Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2008, 01:38 PM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

purple2067 HB Userpurple2067 HB Userpurple2067 HB User
how do I strengthen my bladder?

I am a 27 year old woman with Multiple Sclerosis. As a part of my MS, I have developed bladder control issues. One problem I've been having is that I get the urge to urinate, I use the bathroom and 5 minutes later I have to go again and it's just a little bit. I don't always completely empty my bladder. The other issue is that if I feel like I have to urinate, sometimes I absolutely cannot hold it and I must go NOW! I am a teacher and cannot leave a classroom full of 8 year olds in order to run to the bathroom! If I sneeze or cough, I will "leak". I get embarassed because it's not like I can change my underwear in the middle of the day, and sometimes I walk around slightly wet, sraying myself with perfume down there to avoid the all telling odor.

I have spoken with my neurologist about this and he said the MS does cause these types of bladder problems, and he recommended I see a Urologist. The Urologist had mentioned possibly running some tests such as Uro-dynamic testing to see how quickly and completely my bladder empties. I would much rather attempt to strengthen my bladder muscles first. Can anybody tell me how to do these Kegel exercises?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-23-2008, 03:35 PM   #2
Veteran
(female)

Momof2sons HB User
Re: how do I strengthen my bladder?

Purple,

Sorry to hear your going through all this. I will admit what I know about MS you could hold in a thimble, but my understanding with it is it has to do with nerve function.