It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Breast Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2007, 12:04 PM   #1
(female)

hopefulrose HB User
Question wish I had more info

Diagnosed with breast cancer 4/25 had lumpectomy 5/2. I had no idea what to expect, especially the tests involved prior to surgery and I am a nurse. We make the worst patients. I think the second you are told you have cancer someone should hook you up with someone who's been there and can explain everything to you. It's a week later and I'm still reeling. My daughter had her first mammogram yesterday and she is 37 but my mom died from breast cancer also so she is starting her yearly checks now.

Old 05-10-2007, 12:50 PM   #2
Inactive
(female)

cjammom HB User
Re: wish I had more info

Oh hopefulrose I so agree with you..I was dx 4yrs ago, and I can remember feeling the same exact way..so much info, so much to absorb at a time when you mind would rather shut down. Has the dr. told you anything about your cancer? That would be the first place to start..because whatever treatment you will have, will depend on what type of cancer and what stage the cancer was. So very sorry about your dx., and the pain this is causing you. My grandmother also had breast cancer,she lived to 92yrs old and did not die from breast cancer.. but so far I am the only one in my family to have been dx with it..and I hope it stays that way..It is good that your daughter is being checked, and having a mammo. Do you have family or friends that you can lean on for support?
Rose, please come back here anytime you need..hopefully someone here can shed some light on things you may need help understanding, or maybe you just need to vent..either way there are ladies here that are kind and compassionate, who have been where you are...and are here for you!
I will be saying a prayer for you,
I'm here if you need,
hugs,
cj.