It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Breast Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2009, 09:38 AM   #1
(female)

survivorcld HB User
Undecided on what type of surgery to have lumpectomy or mast.???

I'm 28, 29 in 3 days I was diagnosed with breast cancer in Aug of 2008 I have been recieving chemo since then. I am her2 positive and this is my first time blogging about it. I have 5 more weeks of chemo left and then surgery. I am undecided on what type of surgery to have. They have placed a surgical steel piece into the tumor to mark it incase I decide to have a lumpectomy.....I guess what I'm asking for is advice from women/men who have had breast cancer and what type of surgery was done. I go to talk to my surgeon in a few weeks.....I'm just curious on what others have done...This has been one of the hardest things I've ever had to deal with, luckily I have had some great support from my husband, family and friends. I want to help others in anyway I can too, Thank you for taking the time to read this and any responses would be greatly appreciated

Old 01-26-2009, 08:17 PM   #2
(female)

shagamuffin HB User
Re: Undecided on what type of surgery to have lumpectomy or mast.???

Hello,

I was diagnosed on 7/27/07 with stage 3 breast cancer in my right breast. I was then referred to a surgeon and after she looked at my mammogram and ultrasound, she immediately said that she wanted to do a lumpectomy to get a sense if the lump had spread to my lymph system. Turns out that it had (they did the dye test on my lymph nodres to see how many were positive - 12) so a mastectomy was performed on 8/13/07. Many women just need a lumpectomy so I would immediately decide just to have a mastectomy. Have you had your lymph nodes checked?