It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Breast Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-21-2011, 10:40 AM   #1
(female)

melissa0117 HB User
An "Incomplete" mammogram? Worried!

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting on these boards.

So, my mom has annual mammograms (she hasn't had one in since 2008, unfortunately she didn't have health insurance, but she has it back now). She got her mammogram at a clinic, and I guess they were read at the hospital because the hospital called my mom back a couple of days later saying that it was incomplete and she needed to schedule an appointment to make a new one.

Now, what the heck does that even mean?! She now has to make an appointment at the hospital to get it re-done, and she's doing it this Thursday. I don't know if this means that they found something abnormal and she has to do it again? If the mammogram wasn't clear, why didn't the people at the clinic have her re-do it right then and there? That usually happens to my mom, where she has to stay in the clinic and re-do it the same day, but that didn't happen this time.

Sometimes I feel like a hypochondriac when it comes to her. I am really worried about this. She has no history of breast cancer. I just don't get how the mammogram wasn't able to be read or they need more slides. Can anyone provide me any insight??

Also: she was told that she will be at the hospital for about 2 hours? why? Is that because they just take a longer time at the hospital?

She doesn't have any symptoms of anything really

Thanks

Last edited by melissa0117; 06-21-2011 at 10:43 AM. Reason: add more info

Old 06-21-2011, 03:24 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

JJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB User
Re: An "Incomplete" mammogram? Worried!