It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Breast Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2012, 07:06 PM   #1
(female)

Verity75 HB User
Question Question about tumor markers

Hi, this is my first time asking anyone this and it's sort of driving me crazy. My mom is a breast cancer survivor (2 years so far). She had a double mastectomy for lobular cancer in one breast just to be on the safe side and her prognosis was very good. The doc said she only had about a 5% chance of the cancer reoccurring. Her first year, the tumor markers came back fine. But a couple of months ago, they were elevated at 44, which the doctor said was "borderline" for breast cancer tumor markers. She'll be having another test in January.

It's making her crazy (and me) that my mom survived, had a great prognosis, and now it seems she might relapse. I don't know how accurate tumor markers are, frankly. I've Googled and come up with all kinds of theories, but nothing much seems to agree with anything else.

Frankly, I'm scared for her. Our last dance with cancer left us feeling exhausted but basically optimistic. My mom really thought she had dodged the bullet, but now we aren't so sure.

Does anyone have any practical experience with tumor markers? Are they as inaccurate as I've been reading? Or do you think we have cause to worry?

Thank you so much for any info. It's really appreciated!

Old 11-11-2012, 09:12 AM   #2
(male)

Pratoman HB User
Re: Question about tumor markers

Verity -
I (actually my wife) have a similar but different situation, which i just posted about, looking for feedback.