It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Cervical & Ovarian Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2003, 06:53 AM   #1

mysterious76 HB User
do i need general anasthesia for LEEP???

I have read that most people have local anasthesia, but my doctor seemed to feel pretty strongly that I, personally, would need general given how anxious I am... Has anyone had general, and what do you guys think?

Second question, how many days after your LEEP before you could go back to work. I am a teacher so it's nothing physically stressful. I posted once before and only got one response, and my surgery is on Tuesday so I would LOVE to hear from more of you. I'm incredibly anxious and have only been getting a couple hours of sleep per night b/c of this anxiety.

Thanks.

Old 11-14-2003, 07:11 AM   #2
Inactive

KimRick HB User
I believe that most doctors do give general anesthesia because it's a very invasive procedure and they want to make you feel as comfortable as possible. I, personally, HATE being put under! It also freaks me out having to sign those stupid papers regarding brain damage & death caused by the anesthesia.

I remember the first time I had the LEEP done, I was put completely under. I was SO scared and when the anesthesiologist injected the dope into my I.V., it burned for a few seconds and then all of a sudden, I started cracking up - hysterically! I even laughed all the way into the O.R. and I remember trying to help myself off the gurney and on to the operating table. The last thing I remember was counting backwards from 100.

I woke up to a nurse with HORRIBLE bedside manners, violently shaking me to wake up. I remember throwing my hand up in her face, begging her to stop because I felt sick, and, in turn, she put this tiny dixie cup next to my head and tells me to get sick in that!