It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Cervical & Ovarian Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-20-2008, 10:30 AM   #1
(female)

chastainchica HB User
Just Diagnosed with Cervical Cancer...SO Scared!!!

Hello Everyone,
This is my first time posting. 3 days ago I found out I have cervical cancer. Just two months ago, I had a colposcopy which came back with severe displaysia. Then, after a LEEP procedure just last week, the results came back as cancer! My doctor was very puzzled that it progressed this fast, but has already set me up for a gynelogical oncologist for this tuesday morning.

I am very scared and confused. I have one baby girl, Allie, who is 10 months old and the apple of my eye. But, my husband and I were hoping to have a few more! This is what makes me the most sad of all!!

I am only 28 years old, and feel I am too young for all this! Can anybody tell me what to expect at my first onologist appointment?

Any encouragement offered would be greatly appreciated!!

Rachel:confused

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-20-2008, 02:24 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Pickle Eyes HB UserPickle Eyes HB UserPickle Eyes HB User
Re: Just Diagnosed with Cervical Cancer...SO Scared!!!

Hi Rachel! I had a similar story.

I went for my pap and HPV test in December. In January, the results came back with positive for high risk HPV. I went to a gyno who did a colposcopy, no biopsy, but an ECC. The ECC came back adnocarcinoma in situ. She then did a cone biopsy which came back adenocarinoma Ia1. I went to a gyn/onc. Two months later I had my hyst. I'm now 4 weeks post op.

I am 44 and do not have children (partially by chance, partially by choice). I have been married for 16 years.

Do you know what kind of cancer you have? squamous cell or glandular cell? If you haven't asked for a copy of your pathology report, ask for one. Do you know your stage?