It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Cervical & Ovarian Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-05-2008, 09:58 AM   #1
(female)

CalypsosMom HB User
Unhappy I just had an abnormal PAP...High Grade...I'm really scared

I was just told that I have High grade epithelial squamous cells and now I can't stop wondering if it is cancerous. I go in on Monday for a colposcopy. I was wondering if anyone else had this issue and how long it was before they were told they actually had cervical cancer. I had my last normal pap September of 2006, then I was pregnant and haven't seen the OBGYN since my 6 week post partum check up. I just hope I'm not too late and things are out of hand. I am terrified right now and would love some encouraging words.
This is my first time here and have been reading a lot of positive things so far. Thanks so much.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-05-2008, 09:05 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Pickle Eyes HB UserPickle Eyes HB UserPickle Eyes HB User
Re: I just had an abnormal PAP...High Grade...I'm really scared

Hi Calypsosmom! I'm sorry to hear about your abnormal pap. The good news is that you have gone to the doctor and they have found this. Also, your doctor is proactive and is looking further.

First of all, the pap is just a screening tool. Have you read about the colposcopy and what happens during one? The doctor might take a biopsy (sometimes called a pinch biopsy or punch biopsy). In addition, the doctor might do an ECC (endocervical curettage). I HIGHLY suggest you ask for one of those (because it is how my doctor found where the HPV was doing damage - all other tests came back good until the ECC).