It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Cervical & Ovarian Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-29-2009, 06:29 PM   #1
(female)

jaylite HB User
I need a cone biopsy

Hi everyone...

I was diagnosed with high risk HPV back in 2005 and was seen regularly every 3-6 months for routine paps as some would come back normal and others would come back with low risk dysplasia. I had a few colposcopies done with biopsies and all would come back normal. At one point, my gyn did an ECC because of atypical endocervical glandular cells present on one of my pap results, but the ECC results showed "fragments of benign endocervix" .... that was about 2 years ago. My two paps this past year were normal, then the one in January 2009 came back "atypical endocervical dysplasia - favor neoplastic process" and since I am a full time student, the student health center was so upset about the result that they sent me to this gyn-oncologist, scaring me to death that I had cancer.

So.... I saw him twice now. He's ordered a bunch of tests, a pelvic/transvag US, an endometrial/uterine biopsy, another colposcopy and a few more biopsies... Just saw him on Tuesday and he tells me that the results definitely show adenocarcinoma in situ and that I need a cone biopsy. There were two methods he said he might use and wanted to wait till the results of the uterine biopsy came back to determine what method he'd use.

I don't even know what my questions are at this point.... but I think I just need a place to vent and I'm sorry that it's here, but I don't know where else to do it!