It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Cervical & Ovarian Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-23-2009, 10:34 AM   #1
(female)

VegasQ HB User
My PET Scan Results...can anyone advise?

I just got my report and of course my doctor is out until Monday so I have to freak all weekend. Please let me know if you've see the verbaige below and what it means.

Mild to moderate uptake in left ovarian mass. Also mild uptake above background in left para aortic lymph node.

I think this means I likely have cancer in the ovary and lymph node but not sure.

Thanks! Susanne

Old 10-23-2009, 12:32 PM   #2
Veteran
(female)

zoe96 HB User
Re: My PET Scan Results...can anyone advise?

Okay, first let me preface this response by saying that I am not a doctor or nurse, and what I am saying comes only from my experience having had a PET and how the test was explained to me, both by my doctors and by a dear friend of mind who is a radiologist and had discussed my situation with the oncologists she works with.

Cancer cells like glucose. A PET scan measures glucose uptake. "Normal" uptake is seen and expected, with "normal" levels varying throughout the body, i.e. the brain, lungs and various other organs -- including the ovaries -- will "light up" with glucose activity on the scan, and that is normal. What they are looking for is activity over and above a certain level (I believe the number is 5, but I could be off on that, and it also depends on the grading/classification system used by the facility -- not really sure if there's just one standard or classification). Anyway, anything over whatever that magic number is will be noted as "increased uptake." HOWEVER, that does not necessary mean tumor and/or cancer.