It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Cervical & Ovarian Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2010, 01:37 PM   #1
(female)

Richsgirl HB User
Complications from mulitiple LEEPs?

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting the board. Last August my PAP came back abnormal. I was tested and I have an active high-risk HVP virus. My doctor suggested a Colp/biopsy. It came back with CIN II and I had a LEEP done in Sept. Since then I have had a followup in October, a Pap/Colp in Jan. The one in Jan came back with the same moderate dysplasia and no change from the one back in August. She wanted to see me again in April (the wait and see approach). My question is why didn't the first LEEP get rid off all of the dysplasia?

I went back in April and this time my biopsy came back with high grade/carcinogenic cells (so I am guessing a CINIII--I need to ask my dr). Is it possible for that to change so quickly? In three months? My obgyn said that since the cells have become aggressive she wants to do another LEEP. My LEEP is scheduled for the middle of May.

I am really concerned. I have had 3 biopsy's AND a LEEP plus 3 pap smear's since August 2009. That seems like a lot! My doctor also said they were going to start monitoring me more closely--if I am already getting checked every 3 mos, how much more closely do I need to be monitored? I am also concerned with any implications of having 2 LEEPs done within an 8 mos period.

And with having a diagnosis of active high risk HPV, plus now CIN III and "aggressive" cells, what are my chances of this turning into invasive cancer.

I am just frustrated and discouraged, I am not a smoker, was not promiscious (got it from from my ex-husband who had been cheating) and do not have children. I want children someday and am worried all of these procedures will hurt my chances of carrying a child to full term.