It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Cervical & Ovarian Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-16-2011, 02:23 PM   #1
(female)

lcblue HB User
AIS New to board

Hi Ladies,
I am new to this and this is my first post. I have just been diagnosed with AIS this past thursday. My gyn told me this is NOT cancer, however after reading through the threads here, it seems like most of you have been told this IS cancer? I am schedule for a cone biopsy in a few weeks. Any info would be great!
Thanks!
LC

Old 05-16-2011, 04:49 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Kali333 HB UserKali333 HB UserKali333 HB UserKali333 HB UserKali333 HB UserKali333 HB UserKali333 HB UserKali333 HB UserKali333 HB UserKali333 HB UserKali333 HB User
Re: AIS New to board

It is my understanding that "carcinoma in situ" is exactly the same thing as CIN3... in other words, it's the most serious level of precancer, but is not yet cancer.

I don't know if your condition, Adenocarcinoma in situ, means something different, but I wouldn't think so.

Whether it is or isn't cancer doesn't matter so much; the fact is, if it's "in situ" that means it's non-invasive (so far) and should be easily treated simply by removing the lesion.
Think of skin cancer: since it's typically non-invasive, doctors simply remove the mole in question, and the cancer is cured.
I'm sure that's how it is with cervical cancer "in situ". It's still confined to the cervix. It will be easy to get rid of.

It still sucks; I'm not trying to make light of it. But it's not nearly as bad as it could be. Thank God they found it early enough that a complete cure is virtually guaranteed.

Best of luck.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-16-2011, 04:51 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

Kali333 HB UserKali333 HB UserKali333 HB UserKali333 HB UserKali333 HB UserKali333 HB UserKali333 HB UserKali333 HB UserKali333 HB UserKali333 HB UserKali333 HB User