It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Colon Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-16-2006, 12:26 PM   #1
(female)

kathleen0604 HB User
ostomy pouch

Hi -- Newbie here....My brother just had operation and his insurance will not cover the ostomy pouch he needs. He was told supplies will cost $600 per month out of pocket. Does anyone have this pouch and is it covered? If not, where is the best place to purchase? Thanks

Old 05-16-2006, 02:04 PM   #2
Veteran
(female)

gocatsgo HB User
Re: ostomy pouch

Yikes...I get mine through a catalog given to me by my ET nurse. I would ask them for any info. They are very knowledgable in all things ostomy. I am very fortunate to have my supplies covered by insurance. Good luck!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-16-2006, 05:40 PM   #3
(female)

kathleen0604 HB User

Thank you and good luck to you.

Old 05-17-2006, 03:54 PM   #4
Senior Veteran
(male)

jaydees HB User

$600 a month!!!. No way. I have a permanent colostomy and I spend about $700 a year. (Canadian)

a box of 10 wafers is $65
a box of 20 pouchs seems to me is about the same so call that $200 for 20 changes.
You can get 6-7 days between changes so if we use 6 days that's 60 changes per year which means about $600 a year. Add to that your paste and the few times that you have to change sooner than 6 days(happens sometimes) and it comes to $700 a year.

Even if it gets a little out of hand I can't see it being over $1000 a year let alone $600 a month.

Old 05-17-2006, 07:51 PM   #5
(female)

West Coast Girl HB User