It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Colon Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-25-2006, 09:18 AM   #1
(female)

nict HB User
Barium enema question

Hi there,

This is my first time posting here and it seems like you are a very caring and knowledgeable support community. I am 40 years old and for the last 3-4 months I have had various gastrointestinal symptoms: on-and-off constipation, discomfort/pain that is generally higher up under my rib cage and is sometimes on the right side, sometimes on the left and I get really full/bloated after eating and feel full really quickly nearly to the point of breathlessness. There is sometimes mucous in my stool, but no blood that I can see thus far.

I have seen my family Dr. 3 times and she is focusing on treating the constipation - she thinks I have a really "sluggish bowel". After my last visit she decided to send me for a barium enema (which is still one month away). My question: what exactly can they determine with a barium enema? If, God forbid, these symptoms are due to something like cancer, can they tell? My Dr. just doesn't think this is a serious problem. My Mom had polyps (but died of lung cancer - a long term smoker), my Dad's sister died in her early 50's of colon cancer, but my Dr. said that does not increase my risk enough to consider early colonoscopy.

What do you think?

Thanks for your input,
Nicole.

Old 06-25-2006, 09:40 AM   #2
Veteran
(female)

gocatsgo HB User
Re: Barium enema question

Hi and welcome,