It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Colon Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-14-2006, 01:05 AM   #1
Inactive
(male)

bossan HB User
My Pathology and CT Scan

I've never done this before but I thought I'd share. Here's the sigmoidoscopy report:
The specimen consists of multiple tan-yellow fragments of soft tissue ranging from 0.1 to 0.5 cm in greatest dimension. The specimen is entirely submitted in one cassette. IT - 1 XX

Sections reveal cytological and architecturally malignant glands, consistent with at least intramucosal adenocarcinoma.

Then... the pertinent points of the CT Scan read;
There is a persistent retroperitoneal lymphadenopathy. A left periaortic node measures 1.0 x 1.6 cm on the current exam (2/225) versus 0.6 x 1.2 cm on the previous exam . An inferior left periaortic node measures 0.9 x 1.3 cm on the current exam (2/40) versus o.8 x 1.1 cm on the previous exam. There are no new enlarged retroperitoneal nodes. There is no pelvic lymphadenopathy.

The rectum remains asymetrical with soft tissue density at the left anterolateral wall of the rectum apparently inseperable from the prostate: however, the CT appearance is not significantly changed.

Impression:
1. There appears to have been interval decrease in the size of the mass previously identified in the dome of the right hepatic lobe. One of the two small low-density lesions in the lateral segment of the hepatic lobe is no longer visible.

2. Retroperitoneal lymphadenopathy is again noted, and there has been a slight interval increase in the size of the two largest periaortic nodes, as described. No new enlarged nodes are demonstrated.

3. Stable asymmetry involving the left anterolateral wall of the rectum.
........................................ ........................................ .............