It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Colon Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2007, 11:21 PM   #1
(female)

laura3364 HB User
Newly Diagnosed -- Can I work during treatment?

Hello,

I am so glad to have found this board! I was diagnosed with low rectal cancer and have been told I will need a permanent colostomy which does not bother me. (CancerDad is right - the bag isn't the worst thing). My surgeon suggested chemo and radiation and I meet with oncologists next week. We know the tumor is a T4 because I have a recto-vaginal fistula but I have not had the rest of the staging completed -- CT scan so far was clean.

I am a graduate student 3/4 time and in between full-time jobs right now, but expect an offer for a new job next week.

My question is, in reading some of these posts, the timeline for "getting well" or back to functioning is 6 months-one year. I am 43 and I am beginning to believe I can't take the new job when it is offered, and am wondering if I should just concentrate on graduate school (it is my last semester) instead of trying to do everything. How bad does the chemo and radiation pre-surgery knock you out? I am wondering if I should put what I can on hold until I get through this or try to do what I can, like finish school. Any advice would be appreciated. I am trying to grasp the concept that it is worth turning my life upside down for a year but I don't want to give up every semblance of normalcy that I have. I have great support and finances would be tough without working for that long but I could manage.

I would appreciate anyone willing to share.

Thanks.

Laura

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-03-2007, 02:16 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Nassau one HB UserNassau one HB UserNassau one HB UserNassau one HB User
Re: Newly Diagnosed -- Can I work during treatment?