It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Colon Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-10-2012, 01:27 PM   #1
(female)

Silverrain704 HB User
Oxaliplatin, 5FU and Leucovorin and Avastin

This is my first time to write on here. I was diagnosed with colon cancer Feb.2010 with a 6 month lifetime. Got admitted to MD Anderson in Houston and here I am over 2 years later. I started on Oxaliplatin, 5FU, and Avastin..The past several months was on Ironitican . After a chemo break I go back to the original cocktail that I started on. I was so ill in the beginning it is hard to remember the side effects altho I know it was mostly nausea..Do others take this combination and have good results ? Thanks, I guess I am just getting nervous since I have been off chemo for 5 months now and really dread going back to it..The only time I have ever felt ill with the cancer is when I am on the chemo..

Old 08-19-2012, 08:28 PM   #2
(male)

crcountry HB User
Re: Oxaliplatin, 5FU and Leucovorin and Avastin

If you have liver dominant disease, consider SIR-Spheres Y-90...a FDA approved liver directed therapy for non-resectable mCRC with overall survival data proven in Phase II/III prospective studies in JCO/BJC/and many other oncology journals.
Good luck!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-22-2012, 03:35 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

Nassau one HB UserNassau one HB UserNassau one HB UserNassau one HB User

Just to encourage you if you do go back on original treatment plan. A friend of mine had to do the same regimen minus the Avastin. After the first treatment second time around, his wife said No More! However, after a few days he felt somewhat better and actually completed the whole plan. He felt wiped out after each treatment but bounced back and was able to work throughout. I wish you all the best, whichever treatment you decide to take.

Old 09-09-2012, 11:23 PM   #4
(male)