It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Lung Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2004, 07:39 PM   #1
(female)

Steph35 HB User
Question Boyfriend having lung surgery

Hi,

I've been reading the posts, and this is a great site. People are honest and upfront. I've been with my Boyfriend for 12 years. He is a smoker for about 30 years. As a retired big city cop, he has outlived most of his friends which has been hard for him. He has been sick since Thanksgiving and was initially diagnosed with phenomena and bronchitis. Today, they told him they must remove his left lung-no options. I'm a graduate student in mental health counseling and feel so helpless. I can't stop crying. I want to be strong for him because he is the one who is going to suffer. My obvious pain will make it more difficult for him. Does anyone know why the doctor requires lung removal over chemo. or radiation? Has anyone on the board gone through a lung removal and what does this entail? Thank you for your time and God Bless.

Stephanie

Old 01-17-2004, 11:20 AM   #2
Senior Veteran

butterflytrans HB Userbutterflytrans HB User
Re: Boyfriend having lung surgery

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steph35
Hi,