It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Lung Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-05-2004, 04:18 PM   #1
(female)

delady HB User
Question not sure what to do...please help

I am new to this, so please bare with me. About 4 weeks ago I fell and broke a rib. I went to my local Er and they took a chest x-ray and a cat scan that showed a spot on my lung and mild emphysema My family dr. sent me to a pulmonary dr. who then ordered a PET scan, pulmontary tests, and blood work. The dr. said she wanted to treat me aggressively because she didn't like the looks of the spot on the ct scan. After 2 weeks of testing and being so worried, I go back to her today and she now says she wants to wait another 3 months to do anyother CT scan to see if there are any changes in the spot. (The PET scan didn't show cancer) If so, I would go straight into surgery. I am 49 yrs. young and I have smoked since I was 13.
My husband thinks I should get a second opinion because of what she said in not liking the looks of the spot at my first visit and then now it's no big deal to her. Does anyone know how reliable the PET scan is? I know it is fairly new and nothing is 100% but I sure would like to have some assurance...like maybe 75% chance that I don't have lung cancer. (Is that asking to high for %'s?) I'm just as worried, if not more, now than I was at my first visit.

Thank you for any help,

Delady

Last edited by delady; 08-05-2004 at 04:19 PM.

Old 08-05-2004, 07:29 PM   #2

Kitchener HB User
Re: not sure what to do...please help

Yes, definitely get a second opinion, it never hurts to do so. Pet scans are good from what i know but nothing is 100%.
Did they do a sputem test or biopsy ?
Regardless, I hope you have at least quite smoking ?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-05-2004, 07:32 PM   #3

renee_ky HB Userrenee_ky HB User