It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Prostate Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-28-2009, 04:52 PM   #1
(female)

sbear1102 HB User
My Husband, 43 yrs. old was just dx with prostate ca, gleason score of 6

Please, anyone who can offer any input or information. My husband had a high PSA level a month ago (over 5). I wanted him to get a level b/c of his frequent trips to the bathroom. The report came back today, I'm not a doctor, but it shows 4 out of 6 specimens positive: specimen b: malignant (3+3) =6 PTI: 20% specimen c: Malignant (3+3)= 6 30% specimen e: malignant (3+3)= 6 20% specimen f maligant (3+3)=6 15%

based on the above, and the his age (he will be 44 this Aug), should he have his prostate removed or radiation? Has anyone know or personally experienced prostate ca at this age? Please help with any information, thank you.

Old 05-29-2009, 09:42 AM   #2
(male)

kcon HB Userkcon HB User
Re: My Husband, 43 yrs. old was just dx with prostate ca, gleason score of 6

Firstly, I'm very sorry to hear the distressing news of your husband's diagnosis. 43 is a young age for you both to have to deal with this...and it is something to deal with together. You said you just received the biopsy report "today" (yesterday), and so if he is like me he is in a state of shock right now, and perhaps you are both just realizing that you have a steep learning curve in front of you. One good thing to note here is that prostate cancer is generally a slow growing cancer, and so you have some time to study, ask, and learn before making decisions. I had a very similar diagnosis less than 6 months ago, and an identical Gleason (3+3=6). I am 49.