It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Prostate Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-04-2011, 05:18 PM   #1
(female)

JenH24 HB User
Smile My Dad's CyberKnife Story

Hi,

I am new to this message board. I would like to share my Dad's Cyberknife story. He was diagnosed in 2008 with prostate cancer. Initially, his urologist was recommending seeds or surgery. My Dad was not happy with either of those options. We did research on all of the available options for him. We came across CyberKnife treatment. After finding out more about it, my Dad decided that it was the best treatment option for him. It also helped that my father in law's friend went through CK treatment and was very happy with his choice and the outcome.
My Dad was treated in October of 2008. He is now almost 2.5 years out from his CK treatment and doing very well. His last PSA check was less than 1 (.73 to be exact). He is doing very well. He had no side effects from his treatment with the exception of a little urgency to pee right after treatment, but that went away.
The downside of all of this is that we have been fighting with Anthem ever since his treatment to pay. We have been through several appeals and we are now in the middle of another one. I have done so much research because of all of the appeals we have gone through. CK treatment is a wonderful treatment option. My Dad couldn't be happier about his decision and I just wanted to share that on this message board. Wish us luck on this next appeal. Thank you. Jennifer

Old 03-05-2011, 06:31 AM   #2
Veteran
(male)

Baptista HB UserBaptista HB UserBaptista HB UserBaptista HB UserBaptista HB UserBaptista HB UserBaptista HB UserBaptista HB UserBaptista HB UserBaptista HB UserBaptista HB User
Re: My Dad's CyberKnife Story

Jennifer,

Thanks for sharing your dad's story with us. I wish him many years of continuous success.