It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-19-2011, 09:30 AM   #1
(male)

blong4133 HB User
Does this sound like Thoat Cancer? (Used Snuff for Approx. 4 years)

Hey everyone, I'm new to the board...I am a bit of a hypochondriac, and have been freaking out over some symptoms I've been showing recently. I'm a law student and it's really affecting my ability to focus and study for my finals, which happen to start tomorrow. I'm hoping I can get some reassurance here.

So basically, my sophmore year in undergrad, which was a little less then 4 years ago, I began using snuff. My use fluctuated over the years, some times going through a can a day, other times I would go as long as a week without a dip. I have tried to quit more than a few times, and once I made it as long as 1 month before I came back to it.

Now on to the symptoms.

Sometime around the beginning of my senior year of undergrad, I noticed by left tonsil was swollen. I put it off as a cold, and carried on as usual, and continued my snuff use. Around Christmas Break, I noticed a growth on my tonsil and began to worry, but still kept using snuff. So toward the end of my senior year, I went to see an ENT who looked in my throat (no cameras or anything, just using a mirror type thing, and told me that the growth was a papilloma on the tonsil and not to worry about it, and also told me that the bottom of my right tonsil (the one that feels swollen all the time) looked irritated, probably due to something along the lines of mild acid reflux. So I left feeling pretty good knowing that it wasn't cancer and figured that things would get better. Well they haven't.