It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-30-2012, 08:20 AM   #1
(female)

blessedmomma HB User
reassurance for the newbie

Hi Everyone,
I am new to the healthboards and have a few questions. I was hoping that some BTDT folks could help with some reassurance.
My teenage son has a soft tissue mass in his shoulder joint between his rotator and clavicle. We have seen three Docs the last week ~ the last one being the Orthopedic surgeon. We are scheduled for a contrast MRI this Sat.

The Doctors aren't talking. No one will say what they think or are really looking for, just that we have to get the MRI done. The mass can be seen while looking at him ... it appeared suddenly and is painless.
We can guess what the Docs are looking for or trying to rule out. We are just nervous with the lack of dialouge with the Docs. When we asked the ortho what he suspected he said he won't comment. That this is a step by step process and the first step is finding out how imbedded this is and the blood suppy to it. Not reassuring.

Guess we are looking for anyone with some expierence with this. The wait is hard on us as adults, it is especially hard for out 17 year old son ... who is old enough to hear what was being left unsaid in the Docs office.
Also, how long do you think we will have to wait for the mri results. It is a holiday weekend, so we are unsure if the tech will tell us anything or not. It is being done at the children's hospital.
Thank you for any and all replies. :-)

Old 09-02-2012, 07:42 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

SamQKitty HB UserSamQKitty HB UserSamQKitty HB UserSamQKitty HB UserSamQKitty HB UserSamQKitty HB UserSamQKitty HB UserSamQKitty HB UserSamQKitty HB UserSamQKitty HB UserSamQKitty HB User
Re: reassurance for the newbie