It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Caregivers Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2007, 01:46 AM   #1
(female)

Anne75 HB User
Unhappy How do you cope when your parent has depression?

Hi,

I'm new to all this! Suffice to say, I have lived most of my life with a depressed mother, I have explored every possible emotion in relation to this situation and the thing I find hardest is my isolation. My mother has lots of professional support and there is always someone running around for her (up until a few months ago usually me!), but who helps the caregivers? Where do you go to stop it from taking your life over? If anyone else on here is in a similar situation it would be great to hear your story/coping strategies?

Old 11-07-2007, 02:57 AM   #2
Facilitator
(female)

Seraph HB UserSeraph HB UserSeraph HB UserSeraph HB UserSeraph HB UserSeraph HB UserSeraph HB UserSeraph HB UserSeraph HB UserSeraph HB UserSeraph HB User
Re: How do you cope when your parent has depression?

A couple of questions. How old are you? Are you your mother's carer? Do you have a life of your own? It sounds as if you are isolating yourself, there is no reason why you should have to stay home and not have a life. Or is there?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-07-2007, 02:12 PM   #3
(female)

Anne75 HB User
Unhappy Re: How do you cope when your parent has depression?

Hi Seraph,