It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Caregivers Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-22-2008, 06:05 PM   #1
(female)

TopamaxKillsMe HB User
Am I a terrible daugher? Am I selfish? Am I a bad caregiver? Am I crazy?

I feel like I am.

I come from a very manipulative, dysfunctional family. I left Florida when I was in my early twenties vowing that I would never move back here. I lived in NY for about 7 years and then onto Los Angeles for 10.

My mother was diagnosed w/ Multiple Myeloma while I was still in NY. She lived with my father for practical purposes (even though they were divorced). My father died and neither of my siblings offered to help even though both of them lived in Florida. My mother's health deteriorated and I left LA and moved back to Florida to take care of my mother.

My background is in entertainment marketing and I have not been able to find a decent job here. I take little jobs that barely pay my bills on top of taking care of my mother. She doesn't carry any resentment towards my siblings even though she knows I do, especially my sister who has been horrible towards us both for years. I have told my mother that I do not want to see my sister and to tell me if she's coming over so that I can make other plans. She never does this so I end up running out in a tizzy last minute or hiding in my room, holding my bladder, thirsty until my sister leaves.

I have never been so miserable in my life . I feel that my mother doesn't appreciate anything I do for her. She is constantly telling me that she took me to the doctor when I was a little girl and that it's my duty to take care of her.