It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Caregivers Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-30-2008, 06:09 AM   #1
(female)

zonk HB User
newbie here advice please

hi everyone, my name is jo and I am a regular member on the alzheimers board (mum)
my FIL has been diagnosed with lung cancer after a biopsy. family members have told me today that it an aggressive form of cancer. FIL was having a full body scan today to see how invasive(is masticised the correct word?)
the cancer is.
my FIL, Joe, is 75, and also has scelorisis (sp) of the liver and still smokes, he has also lost a lot of weight over the last six months.
the hospital have told MIL there will be no treatment due to his deterioration and he will be sent home with a palliative care plan in place.
the usual question, anyone know of similar situation...
prognosis...days weeks months or years...I am thinking maybe months.
I know everyone is different but I would just like any kind of indication or clue.
any replies would help if you have been in a situation like this. thankyou for reading.
JO

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-30-2008, 08:48 AM   #2
(female)

summer2008 HB User
Re: newbie here advice please

Hi Jo,

My mother was diagnosed with small cell lung cancer last October (the most aggressive form of lung cancer). At the time, she had no other health problems - other than having smoked for 60 years. At that time, the cancer had also not spread to any other parts of her body.

It is now 7 months later and she is still with us. But just barely. Since January, she has lost about 25 pounds, hardly eats, and in the last two weeks her breathing has become very bad and her pain is now in the severe stage.

Originally, her doctor gave her 2-3 months to live. She has far surpassed that, but I fully expect a call any day from her nursing home telling me she is gone - it's gotten that bad.