It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Caregivers Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-01-2008, 03:44 PM   #1
(male)

rk2k2 HB User
Newbie here and I don't know 'where or what I am'

except sitting on the sidelines.

My 47 yo girlfriend of 3 1/2 months was dx'ed with stage 2 cervical cancer a little over a week ago. Yeah, only 3 1/2 months but its as deep a love as I have ever had (I believe her as well also).

I'll skip the details, but at first she didn't want to me to go through this with her. I suspect she still doesn't and may just be trying to push me away. She still hasn't seen me or replied to emails, although she has called a few times. And I do receive the occasional ecard. By phone, she sounds great (not to suggest she isn't suffering emotional turmoil) ...

From the get go I stressed to her that I wasn't going anywhere, no matter what comes I'm here for her, plain and simple. Her concern was she didn't want to force this upon me, it wasn't fair to me. MY response, *I* am choosing and WANT to be with her and that I love her and will go through anything with her.

I understand SHE is the one in the difficult situation. But my selfish question is this- How long, if ever, might I expect she lets me be a real part of her life?

Old 06-01-2008, 03:54 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Misty800 HB UserMisty800 HB UserMisty800 HB UserMisty800 HB UserMisty800 HB UserMisty800 HB UserMisty800 HB UserMisty800 HB UserMisty800 HB UserMisty800 HB UserMisty800 HB User
Re: Newbie here and I don't know 'where or what I am'

Your girlfriend has a lot on her plate right now and most likely does not have the energy/etc. to devote to a boyfriend. This does not mean she does not care for you.

Most likely she needs space and time to sort things out.