It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Caregivers Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-23-2009, 06:39 PM   #1
(male)

oldcarman HB User
just a bit overwhelmed

I have been caring for my wife for over 3 years now. I have gotten used to the physical needs that she has and seem to do pretty well with this I think. It takes about 2 weeks of every month of total care to take care of her needs.

I find it hardest when her disease attacks her brain. When the hallucinations start or the swelling in her brain gets bad, she can become despondent paranoid and volatile. I think that is when i get the most upset.

That is where things are right now. In addition the swelling is pressing on her optic nerve and causing pain and lots of eye troubles. We have pushed her monthly IVIG up by 2 weeks in hopes that we can get back on top.

Right now, I am just helpless and overwhelmed. Just need to vent
oldcarman

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-24-2009, 08:41 PM   #2
(female)

misty125 HB User
Re: just a bit overwhelmed

Dear Oldcarman, I know very well what you are going through. It's only been 14 months for me, but the demands of my husband's illness are overwhelming. Until one can walk in your shoes or mine, they cannot begin to comprehend the helplessness we feel at times.