It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Caregivers Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-18-2011, 01:58 PM   #1
(female)

chunkymonkey3 HB User
caring for my grandma

This is going to be kind of long but i really just need to vent. I'm a 23 old undergrad university student. I've been looking after my grandmother (64) for the past 5 years now since i was 18. She got sick in 2006 had two heart attacks and a stroke. She spent two months in the hostpital, juring that time i was still in highschool about to graduate (which i did).

My grandmother has been the glue that held my family together, she such a strong women worked very hard all her live , gave everything she could to her 4 children ( 2 girls,2 boys). And even took care of me since i was 6 months old because my dad didnt want me and my mom couldn't really care for me and even to this day doesn't even care about me. So once i graduated highschool my uncle told me i need to get a job to help since my grandma is sick and is unable to work anymore. Which was fine at the time since i was young and naive and really looked up to my uncle. Anyways a year later her kidneys started to fail and had to be put on dailysis 3 times a week She was very week and unale to walk far and had to use a wheelchair. I would drive her to the clinic and then my uncle would pick her but complained everytime he did, how it cost to much gas and that he had better things to do with hes time .