It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Caregivers Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-25-2012, 10:51 PM   #1
(female)

MJ912 HB User
Advice for safety during violent outbursts PLEASE??

Hello Everyone, thank you for taking the time to read my post. I am in DESPERATE need of some advice
I currently work with a young man whom is 17 years old, and built rather large. He has autism, is non-verbal, and cannot accurately communicate his wants, needs or feelings. He also has a seizure disorder. I have been working with him and his family for close to 2 years now and we have a wonderful bond!
He has always been a joy to work with, allthough does have a tendency to have occasional violent outbursts. Typically,these last for a very brief period and normally consist of hitting himself hard on the side of the head 3-4 times in rapid succession while pursing his lips tightly and biting his hand or hitting me on my forearm 3-4 times and at times grabbing my hand and attempting to bite me. Once, he did rush his father and proceeded to push him and try to bite him. We guided him to his room and held the door shut and he calmed in about 3 minutes. They have always seemed to be manageable for the most part, up until today....