It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Carpal Tunnel Syndrome Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-11-2004, 04:07 PM   #1

JaneA HB User
Strange lump in palm of hand

Hi

I'm new to theses boards so please excuse me if my post is answered in another thread somewhere

I'm at a loss so thought id search around and found this forum, hoping someone may be able to give me some advise, i will make it as brief as possible.

I started to get pins and needles and numbness in my left hand in November 2002, my Doctor said it was Carpal tunnel, after referring me to a consultant, he was undecided, in fact said it wasn't and that i needed to have a nerve conductive test, 4 days later i woke in the early hours of the morning with the most agonising pain ever, i couldn't move my hand, my hand was completely paralysed, my Doctor gave me Tramadol, i couldn't use my hand for nearly a week, i had my nerve conductive test two weeks later and it came back normal, i noticed i had a lump appear in my palm, this sometimes is very painful, when i went back to my consultant he decided i should see a Neurologist for further tests, months later i had an MRI scan and an X-ray on my neck, both came back normal, he decided i should have physiotherapy, i did for 4 months and no change at all, so yet again i was referred back to my original consultant, he refused to see me and said he couldn't do no more, so i went back to my doctor who referred me to pain managment....i knew what he would say and i was correct, i need to be seem by my original consultant, im still waiting.

Does anyone here suffer with a lump in the palm of their hand which can be very painful? my middle finger sometimes swells up and i cant bend it at all, not an hour goes by and i don't suffer with a stabbing pain every day

If anyone can offer me any advise id be truly grateful

Thanks

Jane