It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Carpal Tunnel Syndrome Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-29-2005, 08:04 PM   #1
(female)

photonut1998 HB User
Unhappy Appointment for EMG

I have my appointment for an EMG. Workman's comp okay'd this (yay!). I'm just glad I don't have to pay for it. I wonder how much it would cost? Anyway, I go in the 22nd of December. I'm a little nervous about the pain, but then again, I was worried about the pain when I had a different surgery earlier this year and it was nothing! Anyway, I just thought I'd give a quick update. My problem is that my hands go numb at night and they tingle occassionally during the day. I work as a typist, and my hands get stiff and sore if we have a particularly busy day. My doctor and physical therapist are thinking it's cubital tunnel, but all the paperwork keeps saying carpal tunnel, so your guess is as good as mine. :-) I just want to know where the problem is and how bad it is. I want to be able to sleep in whatever position I want without worrying about my hands...any thoughts on how long it will take for it to go away? Will I have to quit my job?

Last edited by photonut1998; 11-29-2005 at 08:08 PM.

Old 11-30-2005, 07:09 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

curiousforever HB User
Re: Appointment for EMG

I doubt you'd have to quit your job. I had ulnar nerve problems (moderate damage) and mild carpal tunnel-and the ulnar damage was so painful that simple things like loading the dishwasher was enough to bring me to tears. Could be partially due to I was not given any pain relief whatsoever for years as well.

The EMG isn't what I'd call fun...but it will tell them where and how bad the nerves are. Then they can tell you if you just need to wear splints or if you will need surgery.