It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Carpal Tunnel Syndrome Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2011, 11:23 PM   #1
(male)

Wulffie HB User
An alternative to carpal tunnel surgery.

First off, this is just my own personal experience. It may or may not work for you, but it worked for me... permanently.

I'm a computer programmer and I lift weights. (Two major wrist stressors).
Back in 1992 (when I was 33 yrs old), before ergonomic keyboards were invented, and padded wrist rests were on peoples wish lists, I developed Carpal Tunnel Syndrome. (In 1992 most people were still using DOS, and the IBM PC 286 was the "hot" technology - LOL! It wasn't until Windows 3.1 came out, and people had mice, were mouse pads used, and keyboards used less.)

First the carpal tunnel started in my pinky on one hand, then the 4th finger, then my 3rd, then started developing on my right hand. It was bothersome, at times painful, and at night worse if my wrists weren't straight.

After a few months, I had 6 affected fingers, (the last 3 on each hand), and pain down to my wrists. I went to the Dr. who immediately said I needed surgery, and scheduled it.

Not a surgery phobic, but reading about how once the carpal tunnel plate is removed, the "nerve bundle" becomes more susceptible to injury after the "plate?" covering the nerves is removed, I decided to seek other opinions, and dove into reading everything I could about it. (The internet was in its infancy, so I relied on libraries...)