HealthBoards

HealthBoards (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/)
-   Carpal Tunnel Syndrome (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/carpal-tunnel-syndrome/)
-   -   carpal tunnel surgery (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/carpal-tunnel-syndrome/933177-carpal-tunnel-surgery.html)

bethpage36 12-27-2012 04:47 PM

carpal tunnel surgery

i will need to have this surgery in the near future.I have no nerve damage.I know there are two different ways of doing this surgery, through a small cut and a scope and a large cut in the plam of the hand. Any thought on these surgeries and the recovery time and results?

loz1804 12-29-2012 11:30 AM

Re: carpel tunnel surgery

I have just had carpel tunnel surgery 15 days ago with the large cut, Apart from a bit of soreness and can't yet put pressure on my hand everything else is fine, can use my hand ok, and my scar has healed great,
This is my first post as I am a newbie, but thought hey ho why not try to put someone else's mind at rest,
PS have it done by local its better,
regards
Loz

WildRose AB 12-29-2012 01:52 PM

I will be needing this surgery in the new year. How long is recovery?

loz1804 12-29-2012 01:56 PM

Hi,
I am back to doing normal light work really after 2 weeks, was just told to take it steady and under no circumstances lift anything heavy, takes 4/6 mths for full recovery and use, having my other hand done soon,

bethpage36 12-29-2012 02:25 PM

[QUOTE=loz1804;5110137]I have just had carpel tunnel surgery 15 days ago with the large cut, Apart from a bit of soreness and can't yet put pressure on my hand everything else is fine, can use my hand ok, and my scar has healed great,
This is my first post as I am a newbie, but thought hey ho why not try to put someone else's mind at rest,
PS have it done by local its better,
regards
Loz[/QUOTE]

What do you mean by have it done by local?

loz1804 12-30-2012 02:12 AM