Oatmeal contains gluten. Not as much as wheat, though.
I don't know of any manufactured gluten-free bread, but try a web search for "gluten-free" or Celiac and I'm sure something would turn up. Some gluten-intolerant people can have spelt - and spelt bread is pretty easy to find - but spelt does contain gluten.
Betty Hagman has a series of gluten-free cookbooks. The recipes look good, but her alternative flour mix looks a little cumbersome to assemble unless one bakes a lot.
By the way, oats have now been declared OKAY for folks with celiac disease!!! I CAN HAVE OATMEAL AGAIN!!!!! actually the stipulation is this: if you have "uncomplicated" celiac disease you can add SOME oats to your diet. i still say get a bread machine though.....the gluten free stuff in stores is about five dollars a loaf!!!!
[This message has been edited by moderator2 (edited 06-18-2002).]
YES!!! at least that's what i read in the most recent newsletter from the gluten free mall(on the net). actually it also said that studies have been done that prove that even maltodextrin, malt flavoring, and barley malt are okay, in moderation and if it is not a complicated case of celiac. same thing with oats ofcourse, moderation and only if it is not a complicated case....whatever that means! i have missed oatmeal SO much!!! I LOVE OATMEAL!!!! i will always mourn the loss of cream of wheat from my life though! sigh......