It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cerebral Palsy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-22-2003, 09:00 PM   #1

coletteb123 HB User
tight muscles in legs getting worse, help!

[FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=4][COLOR=Black]
Hello everyone. I'm new to the msg board thing, so have a heart. I'm 28 years old with spastic diplegia. I had an operation to lengthen hamstrings/heel cords when I was 6. During the past few years my muscles, especially behind my knees, have gotten considerably tighter. In the past I have walked by myself with no help but now I am so nervous about tripping over my own feet and falling down that I always hold onto someone's arm or a wall or whatever's available to remain up when walking. I have recently been through the gait lab and doctors tell me they have not seen anyone get so much tighter so fast before, and they aren't sure why. They have told me about the baclofen pump but after a trial for it I have formally decided I don't want to go that route. Does anyone know of any other methods of making my situation better, meaning loosening muscles with surgery similar to what I had when I was little (even though at this point I'm not growing anymore as I was then), or some other way of making a significant improvement in my walking. This is killing my self-esteem and keeping me from going out much. Even going shopping at this point is scary!!! Please help as soon as you can. Thank you.

Old 12-28-2003, 10:05 AM   #2
Veteran
(female)

lastramy HB User
Re: tight muscles in legs getting worse, help!

You might want to try looking into botox injections. I have mild hemiplagia that has gotten tighter over the years and now I am getting botox to calf area and hamstrings. I am really tight behind the knee too.

Something to think about.
Lastramy

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-30-2003, 07:35 PM   #3
Veteran
(female)

prisc1125 HB User

Hi coletteb123,