It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cerebral Palsy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-14-2004, 12:05 AM   #1
(male)

uneekjester HB User
Speech and CP

I have mild spastic CP, a left-hemi. I had speech therapy until 8th grade, I am now a sophomore in college, and people say I talk with an accent. However, this "accent" is not a good accent to have. Some people say I bring my tounge back on my last word. Other people say that i have more of a "ga" sound in the background. It's frustrating because nobody knows how to describe it. I was wondering how much i can attribute this to CP. Also, I was wondering if i can get infomation on speech impediments and CP.

Old 12-14-2004, 01:19 PM   #2
(female)

Strawberry1 HB User
Re: Speech and CP

Quote:
Originally Posted by uneekjester
I have mild spastic CP, a left-hemi. I had speech therapy until 8th grade, I am now a sophomore in college, and people say I talk with an accent. However, this "accent" is not a good accent to have. Some people say I bring my tounge back on my last word. Other people say that i have more of a "ga" sound in the background. It's frustrating because nobody knows how to describe it. I was wondering how much i can attribute this to CP. Also, I was wondering if i can get infomation on speech impediments and CP.
Hmm. I'm a mild right-side hemi myself. I must say that your symptoms don't ring any bell.

Why did you have speech therapy? Was it because of that "ga" problem or something else? And when your speech therapy ended, did the speech therapist say that your problem was cured, then? (Remember, that problems with pronouncing the R, S etc. correctly are not related to CP.)

Or could that ga thing be just a mannerism, some kind of a bad habit?

The speech problem caused by CP is called dysarthria. I don't know if CP causes other kinds of speech problems.

Sponsors Lightbulb