It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cerebral Palsy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-13-2006, 02:53 PM   #1
(female)

leluto HB User
Question Hello, I Have A 6 Year Old Son With Ataxic Cp

Im New To This Even Though My Son Is 6 But Im Really Needing Some Answers Now As My Case With My Hospital Is Getting Me Down, My Son Was Born At 35 Weeks, No Problems Through Pregnancy, Just The Last Hour Of Labour Where Is Heart Rate Went Down Due To Lack Of Oxygen, My Case Is That I Had No One There To See That His Heart Rate Had Gone Down Apart From The Monitor. He Was Born Dead And Resusitated 8 Minutes Later But In Very Poor Condition, He Was Took To Nnu And Had Fits For The Next 5 Days, When We Were Made To Make A Decision Whether To Keep Him Off The Support Machine And See If He Would Live, We Took That Chance , Dont Ask Me Why Because If They Asked Me Now My Answer Would Be Totally Different, He Survived But Not Without Complications He Couldnt Suck Or Swallow And On A Feeding Tube They Said He Had High Muscle Tone(found Out Later He Has Low Muscle Tone) And We Were Told We Will Just Have To See How He Gets On And When He Reaches His Milestones Or If He Even Would. Weve Been Through A Tough Six Years But Very Rewarding And Hes Now At Main Stream School With A Full Time One To One Doing Very Well, But He Has Ataxic Cp With Major Speech Problems And Learning Difficulties, Does Anybody Else Have Learning Difficulties Because I Was Told By A Doctor That You Cant Have It With Cp. I Would Like To Know If Anybody Else Has Had Anything Like My Experience Or Have Ataxic Cp Because We Are Having Problems With His Case At The Moment Because He Shouldnt Have Ataxic Cp Been Born At 35 Weeks ,sorry For Going On Just Had To Get It Off My Chest And It Is Nice To Talk To People Who Understand.

Last edited by leluto; 10-13-2006 at 02:56 PM. Reason: spelling

Sponsors Lightbulb