It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cerebral Palsy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2011, 07:03 AM   #1
(female)

froyle38 HB User
Question Any thoughts - newbie here :)

Hi all - my little boy had a hospital appt this week and was examined by an orthopaedic surgeon. He also had x-rays of his feet. He's 26 months old and is so far not able to stand without support and unable to walk too. He's been having infrequent physio for around a year now after his health visitor referred him (he was not sitting up at 1 year.) He did not sit up until around 15 months and didn't crawl until 12 months. He cannot put his left foot flat to the floor unless he has his piedro boots on which he has had for around 2 weeks. He can walk very slowly holding my hands/fingers but only for a short period. The surgeon has referred him to a community paediatrician to confirm what he already thinks - that my son has mild cerebral palsy (spastic diplegia). He said his whole left leg is taut and in 3 months i have to return as he wants to give him botox injections and probably give him a splint or casting. Any thoughts or comments gladly appreciated!

Old 03-24-2011, 03:05 PM   #2
(female)

Basswife HB UserBasswife HB User
Re: Any thoughts - newbie here :)

Hi,
Where do you live in the UK?
If your son is not yet walking you should be getting weekly physio, have an Occupational Therapist and portage. BUT as you will know the UK is a postcode lottery, if you let me know where you are I might be able to put you in touch with support or people to help you get more physio etc in place. This is the key, he's still young so he should respond well if enough input is given.